0866 241 4161


Recognizing the importance of Science & Technology for the overall Socio-economic development of State, during sixth five year plan, the Government of India desired to establish the State Councils and the responsibility is vested with the Department of Science & Technology (DST), Government of India. Accordingly, the DST performed catalytic role in establishing State Science & Technology Councils. The Government of Andhra Pradesh established the Andhra Pradesh State Council of Science & Technology (APCOST) during the year 1986.

APCOST is an autonomous body registered under Societies Registration Act 1350 Fasli, and working under the aegis of Environment, Forests, Science & Technology (EFS&T) Department, Govt. of Andhra Pradesh. APCOST is having (1) General Council & (2) Executive Committee (EC).

  1. The Hon’ble CM - President of the General Council
  2. Hon’ble Minister for EFS&T, GoAP. Chairman of Exe. Committee.
  3. Prl. Secretary EFS&T, GoAP- Vice Chairman for Executive Committee.
  4. Member Secretary, APCOST- CEO to look after day to day activities.

After bi-furcation of State, APCOST is now operating its activities from APCOST- Regional Science Centre (RSC) Complex, Bhavanipuram, Vijayawada 520 012.

APCOST is identifying the areas where Science & Technology can be applied for development activities and to achieve goals of the State, with a particular emphasis to eliminate poverty, unemployment. It was also felt necessary to establish effective Communication and other links between line departments and Co-ordinate the activities of Scientific and Technological Researchin order to promote the S & T application.